Saint John’s Anglican Church

Chandler, Arizona

Catholic Faith

Apostolic Order

Sacramental Worship

Evangelical Witness

Saint John’s Anglican Church is a parish of the Diocese of the West of the Anglican Church in America. The Anglican Church in America is among the largest of several continuing churches that emerged from the Affirmation of Saint Louis and the 1977 gathering of faithful Anglicans that produced that document. The Anglican Church in America is the American province of the Traditional Anglican Communion, a worldwide body of some half million members on six continents. The Traditional Anglican Communion is an association of churches that adheres to the essentials of the Catholic faith in its Anglican expression. Our ways are ancient and our faith is unchanging. We stand on the Rock of Jesus Christ as he has been made known to us in the teaching of the Holy Apostles, the Holy Church, and the Holy Bible. Although not affiliated with the Episcopal Church in the United States, nor with the Anglican Communion headed by the Archbishop of Canterbury, we use the American 1928 Book of Common Prayer.

What is the Traditional Anglican Communion?
1. The Traditional Anglican Communion is an Anglican Church.
2. The Traditional Anglican Communion exists in Africa, Australia, the Torres Strait, Canada, Central and South America, England, Ireland, India, Pakistan, Japan, and the United States.
3. The Traditional Anglican Communion is governed by the international College of Bishops. Each bishop promises at his consecration to observe the Concordat, the document that regulates the conduct of the bishops and the life of the Traditional Anglican Communion.
4. The founding document of the Traditional Anglican Movement is the Affirmation of St. Louis. This inspiring document commits us to keeping the Faith that we have received.
5. The Traditional Anglican Communion worships and conducts its meetings in many languages, including Hindi, many of the languages of Africa, Spanish, the languages of the Torres Strait in Australia, and English.

The mission of the Traditional Anglican Communion is to recall Anglicanism to its heritage, to heal divisions caused by departures from the Faith, and to build a vibrant church for the future based on powerful local leadership.

The traditional Anglican Way is based on
(1) ONE canon of Holy Scripture in
(2) TWO Testaments, Old and New, both of which reveal God's truth. That truth is described in
(3) THREE creeds--Apostle's Creed, Nicene Creed, and Athanasian Creed--along with
(4) the first FOUR General Councils (at Nicaea, Constantinople, Ephesus, and Chalcedon) produced during
(5) the first FIVE centuries of the Church's history.
These serve as the model for how the Church should interpret the Scriptures, worship, and function today.


The Three Theological Virtues

The Three Theological Virtues


Faith     Hope    Charity



The Four Cardinal Virtues


Prudence          Justice              Temperance                 Fortitude



The Christian Duties


Prayer              Fasting             Almsgiving



The Seven Spiritual Works of Mercy


To instruct the ignorant              To endure injury

To counsel the doubtful             To forgive wrong

To correct offenders                 To pray for others

To comfort the afflicted



Three Dangers to the Soul


The World        The Flesh         The Devil



The Seven Deadly Sins


Pride    Avarice

Lust      Anger

Sloth    Gluttony




The Four Last Things (you get to choose three)


Death   Judgment          Heaven Hell     


The Thirty-Nine Articles of Religion

The Affirmation of St. Louis (1977)

Video of the History and Purpose of the Traditional Anglican Communion

The Seven Ecumenical Councils



I.       The First Council of Nice                  


II.      The First Council of Constantinople                    


III.     The Council of Ephesus                       


IV.     The Council of Chalcedon                  


V.      The Second Council of Constantinople                 


VI.     The Third Council of Constantinople


VII.    The Second Council of Nice